Tags

, , ,

Ever since I can remember I have always wanted a dog. I would beg my dad every day for a dog. However, when I lived in California, we lived in an apartment where dogs were not allowed. Then in 2003 when our family moved to Washington, we moved into a house. Once we were all settled in, I started asking my dad for a dog again and this time he was not allowed to make any excuses since we lived in a house. My dad said someday once the house is finished and we would have a guarded fence so the dog would not be able to escape. I said okay, and waited. One year later, our house was completely remodeled and I began to ask him again. My dad just kept saying someday. After years of asking, I felt as though I was never going to have a dog so I slowly gave up.

In the summer before my 8th grade year, I took care of one of my friends dachshund for the weekend at my house. Taking care of her dog has reminded me how much I still wanted a dog. This time I decided to do everything I possible can to persuade my dad. So I decided to make a list of things of why I need a dog and what I would do if I had a dog. The list contained about 50 things and my dad still kept the paper as a memory. Some of the stuff included in the paper were that I would pay for the dog and all the vet bills using my own money (I usually kept all of my birthday and Christmas money in my bank and hardly used any of it.), a dog would entertain me, it would motivate me to run, and about 45 more things. Then I started researching a couple different breeds and golden retrievers were on the top of my list. 

One day, I was arguing with one of my sister’s about the smartest dog breed. I kept saying Golden Retrievers and she kept saying German Shepherd. So, to solve our conflict, I decided to look it up. And to both of our amazement, neither of us won. On about 20 different websites that I searched, each one listed the Border Collie as number one. Later that day in the afternoon when I picked up the newspaper, I flipped straight to the classifieds section like always, and it listed Border Collie puppies for sale. I researched Border Collies more and they became my new favorite breeds. My dad likes small dogs and I’m the opposite. Border Collies are medium sized on average, so it fits right in between for what my dad and I want. I asked my oldest sister to drive me to the breeder’s just to look at the puppies and once we got there I feel in love. As soon as I got home, I told my dad. After years of begging my dad has finally said YES!
The next day, I went to go pick out my puppy. There were 3 male puppies left. One was a black & white puppy with brown eyes, another was a black & white puppy with one blue eye and one brown eye, and finally the last one was a brown & white puppy with both blue eyes. The brown&white one was different than the typical border collies you see and the blue eyes were my favorite and so I choose him. I gladly paid for him using my own money and named him Rex after one of my family’s friends dog that I really liked playing with when I was young.
I got him September of 2006.
So this year will mark 7 years since I had Rex. He is still a healthy, active, smart, and loving dog. Like owner, like dog. 🙂

Image

A dog doesn’t care if you’re rich or poor, educated or illiterate, clever or dull. Give him your heart and he will give you his.

~Marley & Me ♥

