Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So a few weeks back, I got a coupon for one free class for Bikram Hot Yoga. I have always wanted to try it and this was my chance. The yoga studio had just opened up and it was really close to home.
For those of you that do not know what Bikram or Hot yoga is, it is basically 90 minutes of yoga in a sauna. I am not even joking. The room is heated to more than 100 degrees with about 40% humidity. It is specifically designed to work the entire body, using heat to stretch deeper, prevent injury and flush unwanted toxins.
One of my sisters regularly attends the hot yoga classes, so I went with her and one of my best friends when I did the free class. One thing about hot yoga that I did not expect is that it isn’t the meditative stretches that you probably imagine. Bikram included lunge poses that made my legs shudder so badly, you fall over. It is not being able to lift your arms above your head to brush your teeth or your hair the next morning. Each time the instructor said to move to a new pose, it took every ounce of strength I had to make my muscles oblige. The fact that the room was heated to 105 degrees does not make things any easier.
I am proud to say that I had made it through the entire 90-minute class.
My thoughts on hot yoga:

  • It was definitely exhausting.
  • I will most likely not do it again unless I have more free coupons for it. Hot yoga is not something I would spend money on.
  • The next day, my entire body did feel amazing! Every single muscle in my body just felt relaxed. I was not even able to crack or pop any of my joints, which never happens!

I want to know:
Have you ever tried Bikram Hot yoga, if so, what are your thoughts on it?

Image

