Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

On Thursday, June 5, our country endured yet another school shooting. This time it was Seattle Pacific University, my school, my community, and my family…
The gunshots started at 3:30pm and were it not for the heroics of a student guard, who pepper-sprayed the assailant, there surely would have been more shots, more fatalities, more wounded and shaken and traumatized. In the minutes after the shooting, #SPUshooting was trending nationally. Within an hour, #prayforSPU replaced it. I am extremely proud to be a part of a community that emphasizes faith and expresses unity in the wake of a tragedy.
Waking up yesterday morning I felt as though I was in some sort of a shock. How could Thursday have been real? My community, my family, was violated by the unthinkable. My heart is broken. I’m thankful to be part of this community that responds to tragedy by crying out to God in worship. I am thankful for the amount of professors, family, and friends that contacted me to check in. This place will always be home and I am so proud to be a student at a university that declares God as sovereign no matter the circumstances. I will forever be proud to be a falcon.
My heart goes out to the friends and families of those affected by the shooting at SPU, UCSB, Sandy Hook elementary, Virginia Tech, Columbine, etc. This is a weekend to hug your family and friends. Be so appreciative of them being here, on this earth, with you. Be kind to people you don’t know. Help people you can see are struggling. Be there for one another.

In the photo, you can see the praying students with the beaming, beatific light shining on their heads. It is a Christian school of after all, and in the moment, we can see why faith can be such a savant against the brutality of life:
Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 9.15.23 AM

Yesterday marked the end of my third year at Seattle Pacific University. These three years have definitely had their ups and downs. I’ve met so many amazing people and I have gotten the chance to explore more of Seattle this year than I did before. One major lesson I’ve learned this year is that there is no way to predict where our paths will lead us. Our ideas and plans could very well change down the road. God might have a different plan for us than we intend and we just have trust him. But my advice is just pursue your passion, whatever it may be. I’ve witnessed the unhappiness of those who didn’t pursue their passion just because their career might not earn as much as others. Allow yourself to do what you truly love.
Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 10.46.17 AM

“Do it with passion or not at all.”
See you in back in September Seattle (:

xoxo,
Sophie

